subscribe: Posts | Comments

Review of the “Bond” Omega Seamaster Professional Model 2531.80.00

38 comments

Review of the “Bond” Omega Seamaster Professional
Model 2531.80.00
By: John B. Holbrook, II
October 30, 2004

OK, I’ll admit it.  I’m a huge James Bond fan.  I have the entire 20 DVD collection of every 007 movie made to date.  Seeing James Bond wear some really fantastic watches over the years also played a part in my being a watch enthusiast.  So it only stands to reason that at some point, I’d seek to add a 2531.80.00 Seamaster to my collection.

The 2531.80.00 Seamaster, is often called the “Bond Seamaster” because Pierce Brosnan has worn a Seamaster of this style since his debut in the role of James Bond back in 1995 in the film, GOLDENEYE.  The introduction of the 2531.80.00 actually pre-dates Brosnan , and was first introduced by Omega in 1993 (Source:  OMEGA DESIGNS, p. 98). Here’s a screen capture from GOLDENEYE where the film’s villain, a defected “00” secret agent has captured James Bond and compares his “old model” British Secret Service issued watch to the newer model which he’s taken from Bond:

The trained eye will notice that the first Seamaster used in GOLDENEYE was not the Seamaster Professional chronometer – it was actually the quartz version of the same watch.  Later in the Brosnan series of James Bond films, he can be seen wearing the actual Seamaster Professional chronometer model 2531.80.00.  Here’s a few screen captures from Brosnan’s final appearance as James Bond, DIE ANOTHER DAY.  Once again, Bond’s Q Branch enhanced Seamaster Professional plays a significant role in the film:

Recognizing the success of the Omega tie in with the character of James Bond, Omega quickly made Pierce Brosnan an official Omega Ambassador.  In this role, Brosnan has helped promote Omega for nearly 10 years.  As DIE ANOTHER DAY represents Pierce Brosnan’s last outing as the character of James Bond, his future as an Omega Ambassador is uncertain.  As of this writing, it is also unclear whether MGM will select a new watch for whomever takes the role of James Bond in the next film.

(Picture courtesy of Omega Press Kit)

One cannot understate the significance of the “Bond” Seamaster to Omega’s success.  In ten years, Omega has emerged from the ranks of several well respected, but somewhat obscurely recognized Swiss watch companies, to becoming quite arguably the number two Swiss watch company in the world.  Omega is second only to Rolex in brand name recognition and sales volume.  The success of the 2531.80.00 also allowed Omega to put resources into enhancing other existing models, such as the successful Speedmaster line, as well as developing all new models such as the Aqua Terra line.  Omega has also been able to focus more resources into producing horological innovations that would not have been possible without the success of the Bond Seamster, such as the Co-Axial escapement, and the caliber 33xx chronograph movement.  So what makes the 2531.80.00 so special you ask?

The Omega Seamaster Professional 2531.80.00 is at its essence, a diver styled watch.  But, before I begin examining the Bond Seamaster, let me preface the review by saying that while this watch is perfectly capable of performing as a dive watch, I don’t think it is the best choice for diving.  For reasons I’ll explain below, this diver styled watch favors form over function, and I do not fault Omega or their watch in this regard.  It simply wasn’t designed to be a tool watch first and foremost.  The Seamaster Professional model 2254.50.00 is a much better choice in my honest opinion if you’re looking for a very functional tool/diving watch.

Beginning with the watch dial, you can see many of the cosmetic features which separate this watch from other diver styled watches.  The dial itself is a very unique slate blue color which can vary considerably in shade depending on how the light strikes it.  The dial can in some light appear quite black, or vividly blue as the below picture demonstrates:

Adding to the dial’s uniqueness is the signature Seamaster “wave” pattern which runs throughout.  Again, depending on how the light catches the pattern, the dial’s appearance can really vary.  Omega also used skeletonized hands on the Bond Seamaster which further add to the distinctiveness of this watch.  The tips of the hour and minute hand, as well as the applied markers are coated with Super Luminova to give the watch reasonably good night time visibility.  Of course, because the available surface area to apply Super Luminova is greatly reduced due to the skeletonized hands, the luminescent glow of the dial isn’t quite up to the standards set by the other Seamaster Professional models which use “sword” style hands.  That’s not to say that the Bond Seamaster has poor low light visibility – it doesn’t.  However the cosmetically pleasing and distinctive skeleton hands of the Bond Seamaster simply aren’t as functional as other Seamaster Professionals – a big reason why I feel this watch isn’t best suited as a true diver as compared with other choices.  Quite honestly, I didn’t warm up to the dial color and skeleton hands right away on this watch.  It just seemed to “different” for me.  But after a year of seeing a good friend of mine wear his, and seeing how good it looked on him, I changed my mind.  I was at the point in my collection where I needed something “different” and the unique features of the Bond Seamaster dial fit the bill nicely.  The Bond Seamaster dial is protected by a domed-shape sapphire crystal, with an anti-reflective coating applied.

Encircling the dial is a unidirectional rotating bezel – a common feature on dive watch used to track the remaining time on a diver’s air supply.  Another feature of this watch which helps it earn “Professional” designation is the helium escape valve located in the upper portion of the case.  Deep sea divers use helium mixed with oxygen in the air supply.  After spending time at extreme depths, divers must spend time in a decompression chamber before returning to normal sea level conditions.  While in the decompression chamber, the helium in the air can actually permeate the seals of a watch, and pressure can build inside the watch case.  The resulting pressure build up can actually blow a watches crystal right out of the case.  To avoid this from happing, divers can manually unscrew the helium escape valve on their Seamaster which gives the helium a way out of the case.  However, to most people who buy and wear this watch, the helium escape valve will be nothing more than an interesting conversation piece, and a cosmetic feature which further distinguishes the look of the Seamaster from other common diver style watches.  I know I certainly won’t take the watch anywhere near the 300m/1000ft. depth that it’s capable of enduring.

For many people, the bracelet of the Bond Seamaster is one of the biggest draws.  It’s absolutely beautiful, and is the most comfortable bracelet I’ve owned on a watch – the links just drape and contour your wrist like no other.  Prior to 2002, the “Bond” bracelet was an available option for every Seamaster model.  However, it’s now exclusively available only on the actual  Bond Seamaster, and Bond Seamaster chronograph.

Each of  the five piece links is joined by friction pins with collars on the ends.  The links on this bracelet are among the most challenging to attempt to size of any watch out there.  It’s not impossible to do yourself, but it’s not recommended if you’re not patient and well versed with friction pins – you can easily scratch the bracelet if you’re not careful.  Most Omega dealers will resize a bracelet for you for free, or for a nominal charge.  The bracelet fastens together via the famous Seamaster two button clasp, of which I’m a big fan.  Critics claim that the Seamaster clasp just isn’t as secure as a flip-lock type design.  The large, flat surface area of the clasp also draws criticism because scratches show quickly and easily in this area.  While the first point is debatable, the second one is not – the Seamaster clasp is a scratch magnet.  Fortunately, these scratches couldn’t be easier to buff out.  Once every couple of months or so I simply take a Scotch Brite pad (the green & yellow scouring pads found at most grocery stores) and carefully stroking in ONE direction only, brush the scratches out of the bracelet.  After about 30 seconds of this technique, the clasp looks as good as new.

The Seamaster clasp also has a handy feature found in most dive watch bracelets – a hidden dive suit extension.  By deploying the extension, the diameter of the bracelet is increased, making it possible to fit over the added girth of a diving suit.  The Seamaster dive suit extension is the best design and execution of this feature I’ve ever seen on a dive watch.  The only downside to the execution of the design is the loss of a fine adjustment pin in the clasp which is commonly found in other watches.  To compensate, Omega includes a “half-link” with the watch to allow the bracelet to be sized up or down in a half link increment.  I’ve not had a problem obtaining a comfortable fit, but others lament the loss a more precise adjustment mechanism.  Here’s a picture of the Bond Seamaster bracelet clasp with the dive suit extension deployed:

I purchased this particular Bond Seamaster new from an authorized dealer, and know it represents one of the latest production runs for this model.  One subtle change I’ve noticed on this SMP from previous generations I’ve owned is on the case back.  Omega has added a new, highly detailed engraving to the case back, the purpose of which I assume is to increase the difficulty of counterfeiting.  Here’s a picture of the case back – the new engraving is bottom right corner of the case back:

Now here’s a close up of the engraving itself.  As you can see, it’s pretty complex.  The Omega symbol is surrounded by a simulated three dimensional globe.  Texturing has also been applied to the engraving, as is evident in the Omega symbol inside the globe.  While not impossible to duplicate, I’m sure the tooling necessary to do so would further drive up the cost of producing a fake SMP – hopefully making it cost prohibitive to do so.

Of course, no discussion of any Seamaster Professional is complete without examining the wonderful Omega Caliber 1120 movement.   The Omega cal. 1120 is an amazing movement, and an excellent choice for this watch.  The movement was first introduced in 1996, and Omega uses the ETA 2892-A2 as the base ebauche, and heavily modifies it to produce the 1120.  The base ETA 2892-A2 is widely considered the best movement ever produced by ETA (first introduced in 1975, with a lineage going back much further with Eterna).  Many, many high end watch manufacturers (like IWC and Cartier) also use the 2892-A2 as a base movement.  Why?  Well, cost is no doubt a factor.  However, I submit that many watch companies all come to the same conclusion:  They could spend the money to design and manufacture their own movement in-house and still not match the technical marvel which is the 2892-A2.  Don’t take my word for it – research the treasure trove of articles on Timezone by such horological luminaries as Walt Odets and others who closely examine the attributes of the 2892-A2.

So Omega doesn’t begin with a low end movement in the 2892-A2; neither do they simply slap a coat of paint on it to create the Omega 1120.  Two extra jewels are added to the 2892-A2 (the 1120 is a 23-jewel movement), rhodium plating, and other extensive modifications designed to increase precision, durability, and quality – the end result is a chronometer grade movement and a true marvel of Swiss ingenuity and engineering.  Cosmetically, extensive decoration is added to this movement to both the rotor and bridge work, as well as the 24k gold lettering applied throughout – quite stunning.  The Omega 1120 may not be an “in house” movement (designed and manufactured completely by Omega) but it certainly is what I call an “in family” movement – ETA and Omega are both divisions of the Swatch Group.  To those who would dismiss the Omega Cal. 1120 simply on the basis of it not being an “in-house” movement, I invite you to read an article by Carlos A. Perez entitled, “On The Ebauche Tradition.” This particular example came from the dealer running at an impressive +2 seconds per day – well within the standards needed to earn the COSC certification this watch has (COSC eligibility requires a variation of no more than +6 or -4 seconds per day).  It may lack some of the horological technical refinement found in other movements (no free sprung balance for example) but the Omega Caliber 1120 is one of my all time favorite movements.

The Omega Seamaster Professional 2531.80.00 has become a classic among watch enthusiasts.  It combines unique, but versatile style with dive watch functionality and robustness.  Spending some time with watch makes it easy to see why it’s been standard issue for Her Majesty’s Secret Service agent 007 for the past decade.

The 2531.80.00 was discontinued and replaced with the 2220.90.00 Bond Seamaster:
Omega Men’s 2220.80.00 Seamaster 300M Chrono Diver “James Bond” Watch

It’s virtually the same watch, with metal hour markers and an upgraded movement.

You can discuss this article in the Omega Forum of my online luxury watch discussion forum community WATCH TALK FORUMS.

*All text and images contained in this review are the original work of the author, John B. Holbrook, II and are copyright protected. Use of any of the information or images without the permission of the author is prohibited.

Bookmark, Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Add to favorites
  1. Robert Altvater says:

    Excellent pictures and article.

    But a professional diver would not use or buy such an expensive beautiful

    watch anyway, except for sponsored advertising reasons.

    For a scuba diver, diving at the great barrier reef for example,

    the watch will be more than enough, even the fact that the watch is not

    made out of titanium which lasts longer being used regulary in saltwater,

    is lighter and more scratch resistent.

    By the way, we are living in the age of IT, which means that an automatic

    analogical diving watch is for your safety in case your digital diving

    computer quits 😉 under water and I can not remember seeing someone taking

    his automatic analog diving watch with him in a decompression chamber.

    So if you buy the Omega Seamaster Professional Reference #: 2531.80

    watch you will get a beautiful daily life watch which will remind you

    to your best times under water whilst looking at it.

    (If you are a scuba diver !)

    Personally I have a Citizen Automatic ProMaster Titanium Divers 200m

    day date.

    It costs about 150 Euro and is not so beautiful but very functional.

    The crown is at 8 a clock and the lunette can be moved even with

    gloves for example.

    The dial is perfect, except the day and date, because who needs to know

    the day and date under water ? But therefore I can use the watch in daily

    life, too.

    The mineral crystal was being replaced with a saphir crystal

    and the bracelet is a sector titanium diver.

    So the watch cost me all inclusiv 300 Euro which is much less than

    the Omega Seamaster Professional Reference #: 2531.80.

    But beauty has its price !!!

  2. I have had my Omega Seamaster 2531.8 fall off my wrist 3 times in the past 6.5 years. The watch is 11 years old. I have been lucky so far. Twice I heard it fall, and once it was handed to me by an honest stranger on the streets of New york. I was very surprised and nearly went into shock as it was the first time it fell off my wrist.

    I Went to Omega Boutique on 5th Avenue in New York and they told me this is a very common problem. They told me when you get watched serviced every 5 years they check for loose pins. I asked the repairmen what happens in the interim.

    It cost $35 dollars to replace an Omega Pin at the Omega store in New york. I paid $2 in the diamond district for a non Omega pin. They hold just fine and better than the Omega Pins at the factory. The Omega pins have two small tube on each end of the pin. They obviously dont work.
    The repairmen at Omega store said I am taking a risk by not using Omega Pins. He is obviously wrong. He basically has indicated to me he does not know what he is taking about or he wants my $35 for a genuine Omega pin which does not work.

    What is your recommendation for keeping this Omega watch on my wrist and not on the sidewalk. I would be very upset if I lost this watch. I love this watch and want to keep it the rest of my life. It is also my only watch I own.

    I do want to say the movement has been excellent the past 11 years except for one service at 4 years 3 months for cleaning. This is normal. My watch is now losing about 8 seconds a day which I believe is on the borderline of acceptable by factory specifications. If it starts losing two minutes a week it will be time to service once again.

    Thank you for you review and let me know what you think about this very common pin problem. Alot of people are not as lucky as me and never know why they lost their watch. They may even think its their fault. I await your suggestions. Jim

  3. John B. Holbrook, II says:

    Hi Jim – I’ve owned a lot of Seamasters and never had this problem. I actually prefer screwed in links (like Rolex uses) but you occasionally hear about screws coming out of a Rolex bracelet too. For either Rolex or Omega, this is EXTREMELY rare and not common as you say. Usually simply replacing the pin does the trick. Good luck!

  4. Thank you for your response. John, if you had this watch fall off your wrist 3 times onto the ground in the last 6.5 years you would not think this problem is extremely rare. I am very lucky I still have this watch.
    I actually love the look and feel of the watch and it is one of the few possesions I have owned that I have not sold, given away, or thrown out. Usually after a few years I get tired of things and get rid of them. I will keep this watch for the rest of my life because of love it.

    I went to the official Omega Boutique store in New york on 5th Avenue. It is a huge store with an upstairs repair facility. The servicemen did say this is very common. So its not as rare as you think. You have been lucky, thats all.

    After it fell off my wrist the first time, about a month after my only cleaning (at about 4 years 4 months) I called the servicemen at this time to tell him about this. He is also a Swiss authorized repair center. He is located in the lincoln building on 42nd street.

    I told him a stranger on the street tapped me on the shoulder and handed me my watch. The band was separated. This gentlemen told me that he has heard about this happening before and to put crazy glue on the tips of the rods. I did this and this does not work. It fell off my wrist 2 more times after this.

    John, in my opinion this is a very common problem as the repairmen have also stated. I also beleive the Omega pins containing the two smaller tubes are actually not as good as one thick tube which stays on from the friction. I have had three Omega pins fall out. I have had three non-Omega pins hold the band together.

    I was contemplating buying the speedmaster 3750.50, the original moon watch with the hesalite crystal. I am totally in love with that watch also. But I am afraid because the watch has the same band as the seamaster with the pins. If I lost a $4200 watch that would not be a good day for me.
    I am not rich or wealthy. But I do love the watch

    I am continually checking my seamaster every few minutes to check for loose pins. It is an uncomfortable way to wear a watch.

    I hope you continue to have better luck with your omega seamasters than I do.

    Cheers,

    Jim

  5. Robert, please let me know where you sourced the sapphire crystal for your Citizen Promaster diver.

    Several comments I’ve read on watch forums led me to believe there’s only a couple of Citizen dive watches that one could get sapphire crystals for. I hope you have information to the contrary.

    cheers,

    Graham

  6. Bond, James Bond says:

    Great article,

    As a Huge Bond fan have to make small remark:
    The watch on Golden eye is (i think) the battery model.

    Or so i’ve been told, and so i had to buy the battery model 🙂

  7. You are correct in that the in the first Bond movie featuring Brosnan GOLDENEYE, they used the quartz version of the Omega Seamaster. However, the Seamaster Professional mechanical version was used subsequently thereafter.

  8. General Ourmouv says:

    Jb,

    Do you have any preferences between buying from an official Omega outlet vs an online dealer?
    I’m due for my first Omega soon and was wondering the pros and cons of online purchasing; especially in regards to legitimacy.

    Thanks

  9. Believe it or not the problem with the pins coming out is easily put to bed and it was told to me by a service and repair guy at Sears, of all places, I had the same problem after resizing my Omega Seamaster Bond Type, it will hold true for the Oyster Bracelet as well , if u do it yourself or have someone do it , have them tap on the bushings denting them just a tad, put the bushings back on the bracelet and insert and tap the pins, you will feel how tight the pin goes in there, I have a 2541.80 since 97 , once I did that which I did by myself, I never had a loose pin or never had to worry about the watch falling off my wrist for losing a pin.
    Trust me it works and you don’t have to spend any money, hope this helps and give peace of mind to all of you out there with this unusual problem.
    Thanks,
    Tony

  10. I own two omegas now, 2531.80 and a beautiful deville co-axial 4813 silver dial. For omega fans, you must get yourself a dress watch! As nice as this omega seamaster is, it simply cannot be worn with a suit (only brosnan can pull this off) So I urge omega fanatics to go out there and get yourself a real dress watch.

  11. It is possible to save some money online, but it’s also easy to get burned. For your first transaction, I would encourage you to buy from an authorized Omega dealer.

  12. This has always been my favorite review article on this website of all time. I would love to see an updated review of the 2220.80 used in Casino Royale. Good work John.

  13. Maybe someday….we’ll see. 🙂

  14. I have just put a deposit on my 2531.80 – a 40th birthday present from my wife. It will be the first “expensive” watch I have owned, and I plan to wear it for every day. After reading this article, I cannot wait to get it on my wrist in March!

    It’s a pre-loved one from 2002, but has been serviced twice in that time (last time just before Christmas just gone) and looks brand new – not a mark on it. Bracelet is still nice and tight, so it’s had a good life thus far. Got all original papers and a 12 month warranty, but not the original Omega box! 🙁 Have asked the jeweler to look for one for me before I pick it up, so fingers crossed.

    Background to the purchase is that I had always wanted a TAG, but in recent years, they have lost their shine to me. Too many people own a TAG now, and when I tried them on along side an Omega, I just could not bring myself to buy one. It HAD to me an Omega, and it had to be a Seamaster. Budget was a constraint for me, and as I wanted the automatic to eventually pass down to my son.. I had to go second hand.

    Roll on March!! 😛

  15. That’s a great story Adam – big congratulations! 🙂 You’ll have to post some photos over on my other site http://www.watchtalkforums.info in the Omega forum when you get the watch. I’m sure the guys there would love to see it!

  16. Thanks for this great article!

    I can agree 100%. This Seamaster Pro model is an excellent watch. I was about 14 years old when Goldeneye was released and I fell in love with this watch instantly. Of course there was no way for me back then to buy this watch, simply because I didn’t have the money and my parents didn’t support my luxury fantasies 🙂 Anyways, a couple more years went by and I finally made my dream come true in 2003. Now, 8 years later, not much has changed. To me this is still the ultimate watch and I wear it every day of my life.

    About 2 months ago, I took it to my local certified Omega dealer for a checkup. They really did a great job and it keeps the time even better now. Usually +/- 1.5 seconds over a 24 hour period. I wear it throughout the day and remove it from my wrist when I go to bed. This way, it gains back the time it loses over the day. I occasionally compare it to my atomic digital clock and it’s almost scary how accurate my Seamaster is. I’ve also never had any issues, like in some comments described above. I couldn’t be happier, really.

    I believe a couple years ago, Omega started to put their Co-Axial escape movement into this Seamaster Pro model and they’ve also made some minor design changes. To be honest, I don’t like the “new” design as much as the “classic” one and I’m really happy to own one of the previous models.

    Buying this watch has been one of the best decisions I’ve ever made!

  17. Thanks for sharing your story Luke – stop by the Omega Forum forum on my site WATCH TALK FORUMS and shows us some pics of your watch!

  18. Good idea! I will do that, but I think I’m also going to shoot a video, since I’ve wanted to do that for a long time 🙂

  19. I bought the 2531.80.00 back in 2000. It is the best watch I have ever owned. TBH, I have never had it serviced and it still keeps great time! 🙂

  20. I would HIGHLY recommend you get it to a qualified watch service technician for a clean, oil, and adjust. Should only be a couple of hundred dollars.

  21. Jim Miller says:

    I just had my Omega Seamaster 2531.80 serviced and picked it up at the authorized swiss repair shop in NYC. I paid $280 cash for a complete overhaul which entailed cleaning, lubing, and replacing the crown. I noticed it is loosing 5 seconds a day. Is this acceptable? Should I bring it back to him and have him make an adjustment? I read chronometer specification is -4/+6 seconds. What would you do? Will it loose more time than this?

    I also want to say I lost two more pins on my Omega Watch. It is 11.5 years old exactly. It has Fallen off my wrist 5 times. I now have read that when you take this “Seamaster” into the Ocean you are suppose to rinse it off in warm fresh water. When I first bought the watch for the first two years I was swimming in the Ocean alot. I never rinsed the watch. My guess is the salt water has corroded the pins. Its the only logical explanation for this anamoly.

    I have lost five pins that were factory installed and it is a minor miracle I am still in possesion of the watch. But I now know I swam in the Ocean dozens of times with this watch on and never rinsed it.

    I made two other entries in Septemeber on this site and the last thing I want to do is to tarnish or defame Omega Watches. I love their watches. So now I think that it was my exposure to the salt water in the ocean that has caused me to loose five Omega pins. So the pins falling out are not a reflection on faulty Omega engineering of their pins.

    If you swim in the ocean, please rinse your watch in tap water. Otherwise you may end up like me.

  22. I love my Omega Sea master. I am a jeweler by trade, and often drop my Rolex into the ultra sonic for cleaning. I did so with my Omega and the bezel blanched because of the heat and chemicals in the solution. It has diminished the look of the watch greatly, and am awaiting the new bezel to replace it. Otherwise, I love this watch more than any other watch I own.

    I wear this time piece with casual attire, a suit, or even a tuxedo. I really appreciated the article by John, and am excited to get the new bezel on my Sea Master. Do NOT attempt to put this beautiful time piece into an ultrasonic cleaner!

    Thanks!

    William

  23. Thanks for the advice William. 🙂

  24. I LOVED my Omega seamaster my wife bought it for me Aug 98 for our wedding,i had worn it everyday till it was lost yesterday.
    I have no idea what happened but must assume it fell off my wrist,this had happened once before but i felt it go i am devastated. I may be partially to blame as i had never had this watch serviced in the 13 yrs i had owned it.
    I intend to get another one but am concerned it could happen again in light of some comments here.
    Could some one please clarify when the design changed i believe some minor cometic changes were made swirling design on face?? i want the exact same model. thanks a sad omega lover

  25. You might want to post your question on the Omega Forum of WATCH TALK FORUMS. There have been many changes to the Bond Seamaster, but you can still buy one like what you had pre-owned.

  26. Hi John,

    Another great review, thanks. Have you ever considered doing reviews on vintages like the Seamaster Cosmic 2000 series? I own one that I had restored, and almost sold it, but was too sentimental to let it go. God bless.

    Haitham

  27. I still have my 96′ Seamaster 2531.80 that has never been serviced. Am I better off sending the watch to Omega for an overhaul or is there a preferred authorized service center? I’ve read reviews that the Omega service can get lengthy and expensive

  28. I’d absolutely recommend using a 3rd party service technician. WATCH TALK FORUMS has several GREAT service organizations which advertise on the site.

  29. John, This is an excellent website and a tremendous resource; thank you.

    Up-thread William strongly suggested not using an ultrasonic cleaner on the SeaMaster because it blanched his bezel. William, if you’re still monitoring this thread: will you please elaborate? Did the blue on the bezel fade or did it literally turn white? John, Have you used ultrasonic cleaners on your Omega’s? Is there a brand you recommend?

    I purchased my SeaMaster (Bond design from 2005) used over a year ago and took it to an authorized dealer to have the links adjusted and the watch cleaned. I have noticed that the blue on my bezel doesn’t seem quite as brilliant as newer SeaMaster’s but I’m uncertain as to whether this is attributable to the ultrasonic cleaning or it’s simply a matter of wear (and the previous owner was somewhat clumsy as there are some minor scratches on the bracelet). My SeaMaster is overdue for a cleaning and this time, I’d like to purchase an ultrasonic cleaner but William’s comment has given me pause; might one of you offer suggestions for the best step forward.

    Also, do you recomend a cleaning solution for ultrasonic cleaners (or what you use, if by hand).

    Thank you.

  30. Kev Spencer says:

    I just wear my 2001 2531.8 seamaster proffesional 24 hrs a day, I have broken out concrete with a jackhammer and a sledgehammer on a daily basis as a job for years while wearing it, I Do martial arts and work out in it , in fact I forget it is on my wrist it is a part of me I sleep in it.

    It gets cleaned when I shower and it still looks like a million bucks and keeps great time, I love it and I traded my Rolex Submariner 1986/87 no date plexi glass model for it plus I got a lot of cash. I got a great deal as this is a tremondous watch that can be worn with a good suit as well as casually. It is a tool and it is tough no need to mollycoddle it, enjoy it.

  31. Thanks for the review. I’ve been wearing one of these watches for the last 19 years. Looking at the back I see it doesn’t have the engraving and has the number 624 instead of 625 next to the bracelet, so I’m assuming it’s a little older. Sadly my watch has been ruined by Swatch Group Australia. They took it apart for a service and didn’t put it back together properly. I am now trying to decide whether it’s worth getting it fixed somewhere else or calling it a day and buying a replacement. One thing I will say though is despite all the abuse I have given this watch it has always kept the correct time. I bought it thinking “well if it can handle 300m it can handle my lifestyle”, and never took it off for anything. The amount of times it’s been scratched, smashed, and crushed is beyond counting, yet it was still the most reliable thing I owned. Sadly I’m thinking because of Omega’s appalling service in Australia it has to go. Shame because it is a very nice watch, and built like concrete if it can survive 19 years on my wrist.

  32. Love my 2541.80 quartz, have had it since the late 90s – still a daily wear- just had the band polished and it looks brand new.

  33. I have worn my ‘James Bond’ professional Seamaster (continuous movement) almost every day for over 20 years, since Christmas 1995 when my wife gave it to me as a Christmas present. One time, it was cleaned for around $200; another time, the bezel was repaired (likely a result of over-twisting by a grandchild), which cost about $600. Both services required about 2-3 weeks absence. It’s losing about 2-3 mins a week now, so I may have it cleaned again in the near future. Otherwise, I’ve worn it almost non-stop, including sleeping, the shower, the ocean, and the hot tub. It has never fallen off as some people report, although a couple of times I pushed some pins back in to the bracelet using the edge of table.

  34. Hi seasmaster reference page peeps, fantastic review. I would like to ask if anyone’s seamaster, esp 2531.80.00 Bond model, has yellowing (reduced luminova) on indices on the dial? Will the lume still work and how do you charge for lume?Also has anyone replace the dial to bring up the lume again?? Thanks all.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anonymous - [...] [...]
  2. WTB Omega Seamaster Full size Chroniometer Skeleton Hands - [...] Black or blue, not too fussy there. I'm after another Seamaster, something similar to these... Review of…
  3. West Yorkshire service centre advice - [...] the review they start talking of pins failing or loose pins. Rare I hope, nonetheless quite scary. Review…
  4. Omeg SMP "Bond" Quartz 2541.80 [EU sale preferred] - […] […]
  5. Which Omega is right for me AND my budget? - Page 2 - […] I agree, for your listed budget you can easily find a good used Bronson bond SMP. 2531.80…
  6. Omega Seamaster Pro Bond Wondering if this is real thanks. - […] Review of the “Bond” Omega Seamaster Professional Model 2531.80.00 | THE SEAMASTER REFER……
  7. What to choose? - Page 2 - […] I meant 2531.8 Review of the “Bond” Omega Seamaster Professional Model 2531.80.00 | THE SEAMASTER REFER… The 2541.8…
  8. Whats a good "starter" Omega? - […] pieces will hold their value. Very comfortable to wear, excellent quality. Worth saving up for. Review of the…
  9. Heads Up! I saw a Bargain here! (List place) -Thread #5 (2016) - Page 1098 - […] best option (thinner, with a workhorse movement - no co-axial, and I personally love the blue wave. Review of…

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: